top of page
Six Rivers

Six Rivers



Shasta Trinity

Shasta Trinity



Fighting the politicization of National Forests

Shasta Trinity National Forest


The Shasta-Trinity National Forest is the largest national forest in California at 2.1 million acres with over 6,278 miles of streams and rivers. The Forest was established by President Theodore Roosevelt’s proclamation of 1905. Originally two forests, in 1954, they were combined to become the Shasta-Trinity.


The Shasta-Trinity ranges from 1,000 feet in elevation at Shasta Lake to the peak of Mt. Shasta at an impressive 14,162 feet. If you visited, you would find portions of five designated Wilderness Areas: Castle Crags, Chanchellulla, Mount Shasta, Trinity Alps and Yolla Bolly-Middle Eel and you can walk a 154 mile section of the Pacific Crest Trail or drive the Trinity Heritage and the Trinity River Scenic Byways.


The Shasta Trinity was the original focus of our Forest Monitoring Program, and Conservation Congress continues a steady watch on this Forest. It’s a treasure of a place, but for more information on proposed timber sales and threats to wildlife habitat from logging please visit Shasta Trinity National Forest.

Six Rivers National Forest


The Six Rivers National Forest includes 957,590 acres of mountainous land, and hosts the Smith River which is the only major undammed, naturally flowing river remaining in California.


As you might expect from it's name, this National Forest has six major rivers running within its boundaries: the Smith, Klamath, Trinity, Mad, Van Duzen, and Eel. That’s more than 365 miles of designated Wild and Scenic River!  The diverse ecosystems and landscapes provide habitat for 8 federally classified threatened and endangered species, plus 32 plant, 2 bird, 1 fish, and 2 mammal species designated as Forest Service sensitive species.


But the Six Rivers offers all manner of recreational opportunities too and as with all national forests, the Six Rivers must maintain the ecological integrity of the forest while providing multiple-use of resources.


The Conservation Congress works to ensure that resource extraction does not compromise the wellbeing of wildlife that inhabit the forest and the rivers that run through it.


For more information on the Six Rivers, including proposed timber sales, please visit the Six Rivers National Forest. 

Mendocino National Forest

California boasts 18 national forests and the Mendocino National Forest is the only national forest not crossed by a paved road or highway in California so it is attractive to people seeking an outdoor experience of tranquility and solitude. The average elevation of the Mendocino is about 4000 ft.


Thousands of years before pioneer explorers from the eastern United States entered the area, it was ancestral homeland to five Native Nations (the Yuki, Nomlaki Wintu, Patwin Wintu, Eastern Pomo, and Northeastern Pomo peoples) who lived in harmony with the four-legged, two-leggeds and wingeds.


President Roosevelt first set aside the Mendocino as the "Stony Creek Forest Reserve" on February 6, 1907.  The Mendocino offers unique isolated habitat for wildlife which is a double-edged sword when it comes to protecting it. Since the Mendocino is so isolated it receives less public advocacy and more intensive management than other forests. Conservation Congress provides much-needed oversight on this beautiful rugged National Forest.


For more information on the Mendocino, including proposed timber sales, please visit the Mendocino National Forest.

Modoc National Forest

The Modoc National Forest is located in the extreme northeast corner of California and includes the Warner Mountains to the east, the high plateaus dominated by sage steppe and ancient lava flows around Alturas, and the Medicine Highlands which is the largest shield volcano in North America. Also in the Modoc is Devil’s Garden Plateau, an extraordinary 300,000 acre range of what may be the largest unbroken expanse of western juniper in the world.


The Pacific Flyway crosses directly over the Modoc National Forest. During their migration from Alaska and Canada to Mexico, hundreds of thousands of waterfowl rest at local wetlands. The Modoc is also home to many large mammals including Rocky Mountain elk, wild horses, mule deer, and pronghorn antelope. Recently a small grove of Whitebark pine was discovered in the Warner Mountains. This species is regarded as a keystone species for its value in promoting biodiversity.


The Modoc’s remote location ensures visitors a serene experience away from the crowded trails and campgrounds of the Sierra Nevada forests. Yet the area also provides extensive suitable habitat for wildlife, including the federally designated threatened Northern Spotted Owl.


The Conservation Congress safeguards the Modoc’s precious remote habitat. For more information on the Modoc, including proposed timber sales, please visit the Modoc National Forest.

Forests at risk ...and why we should care:
bottom of page